Sundowner

Posted on Updated on

I woke up before the speed of light could

release me

and my thoughts were half asleep

music in my mind playing

the music stopped when I opened my eyes

and that peaceful moment between

sleep and reality

lent breath and I realized

I failed my dreams

a whole life was spent

running, frustrated

hiding behind the bushes

naked

the day was spent with friends

and family no longer alive

the day was spent climbing roof tops

landing on my feet

and flying

The day went down with the sun

unopened boxes of dreams were fading

while looking around I saw

the night trespassing

as the last rays of light were withering

like a fragile mortal

and I am trapped in a world

where small boats can’t survive

the torment of a vast emotional ocean

where I no longer have lives to spare

no family all in one room laughing

no high peaks, acrobatics, cloud hopping

timeless cells tracing in and out

of a wild open territory

and of a tamed bound beast

to a horizon let down,

bereaved

 

2 thoughts on “Sundowner

    Ramona Barsotti said:
    February 21, 2015 at 9:30

    Very nice, brilliant writer!

      clburdett responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 9:30

      Ramona! 🙂 thank you!

Leave a Reply

