Crossing Paths

Posted on

I know, I have received Mercy in my life

But it was not given in close proximity to the good

Or the bad I inflicted upon others

And I didn’t deserve it because of lapses in time

And I didn’t deserve it because of a forgetful

Or short-sighted God

I received it

Like many do

And when given in close proximity of the good or

Bad inflicted, there is more Value

As time passes, I reflect

On the moments which were not taken from me

I reflect on the times I was exposed but not hurt

How I crossed the street unharmed without looking

How I spoke out loud without thinking

The potential offspring of Calamity passed in one blink

I was there one step ahead, walking out

Just minutes, maybe even seconds, before

One man entered and one woman stepped off

I turned the corner and was gone

Like ships all but striking in the dark, dread of night

Like two free riders, in the sky, aimlessly arousing Imminent Doom

Like fatal debris, a good grip on a slip

We crossed paths, but missed

And like a lone wolf strolling through town

At sun down…I am reminded

Of how I take and I take

I am reminded of how

I am no better or different, nor am I

Anymore blessed or deserving

Than those

Who

Collided

3 thoughts on “Crossing Paths

    Ramona Barsotti said:
    December 17, 2012 at 9:30

    Your something else, wonderful writer

    carol said:
    January 21, 2013 at 9:30

    (****) 🙂

      clburdett responded:
      January 21, 2013 at 9:30

      Is that four stars? 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

